The FIA is pleased to offer a series of qualifications developed by our own nationally regulated awarding organisation for the fire detection and alarm sector, the FIA AO (Fire Industry Association Awarding Organisation).

Our qualifications have been produced in consultation with industry leaders and employers, matching the needs of the industry with what learners really need to understand.

We’ve worked with reference to the National Occupational Standards (NOS), current UK legislation and published standards, along with codes of practice and industry best practice to give learners the opportunity to expand their knowledge and understanding in a format that is in-depth – but delivered under expert guidance.

How many units make up the qualification?
In order to gain the full qualification, learners must take and pass the three mandatory units plus one final unit. The final unit will determine which qualification will be achieved, whether this is in designing, installing, maintaining, or commissioning.

Which units are mandatory?
All delegates must take the Foundation in FD&A unit, which is the starting point for each qualification. The Foundation in FD&A is compulsory and delegates will not obtain the qualification without it.

Additionally, delegates must also take and pass the Health & Safety at Work unit, and the Environment unit – or give evidence that they have met this requirement through other recognised means, such as through the ECS card scheme.

If you are unsure whether you need to take the Health & Safety at Work unit or the Environment unit, please visit our website or phone the office to find out what other evidence would be acceptable to demonstrate competence in these areas.

What qualifications are there?
The qualifications on offer have been developed to reflect the job roles of the sector. These are:
• The FIA AO Level 3 in Fire Detection and Alarm Design Theory and Regulatory Requirements
• The FIA AO Level 3 in Fire Detection and Alarm Installation, Theory and Regulatory Requirements
• The FIA AO Level 3 in Fire Detection and Alarm Maintenance, Theory and Regulatory Requirements
• The FIA AO Level 3 in Fire Detection and Alarm Commissioning Theory and Regulatory Requirements

What level are the qualifications?
These qualifications have been developed to Level 3 and registered on the Qualifications Curriculum Framework (QCF), equivalent to a Level 4 on the European Qualifications Framework (EQF).
A QCF Level 3 qualification means that learners are educated to A-Level standard in the specialised field of Fire Detection and Alarm.

Qualification Structure
Each qualification is made up of four units all of which require a pass for award of the qualification. Three of the units are common to all of the qualifications, learners are required to start by completing the foundation before progressing to any of the other units.

What order must the units for the qualification be studied?
The Foundation unit must be taken first, and then any other unit can be studied in any order.

Will learners gain a certificate at the end of the qualification?
Yes. Learners successfully completing all of the required criteria for their chosen qualification will
be awarded their FIA AO certificate, recognising their achievement to Level 3 on the QCF.