Membership criteria

We are not interested in representing businesses who are not up to the job and who give the industry a bad name. Credibility, a reputation for high quality and second­-to­-none service are what FIA members are about.

Only companies that have Third­ Party Certification (TPC) are eligible for membership of the FIA - please see more details in the table below.

Third Party Certification is, in essence, a consumer protection scheme. It enables you, the supplier and certificated company, to provide proof that your company is competent. TPC means that an independent expert, (the third party), has assessed your business and found that it has met certain standards. These standards usually relate to technical aspects of the business activities, but may also relate to other aspects of the business such as ethical and environmental qualities, in relation to the work your company is doing within the fire industry.

Probationary membership is available for up to a year for an organisation which is on their way to achieving accreditation.

Area of Work

Certification needed for FIA Membership

Fire Detection & Alarms (FD&A)

BAFE SP203-1 or LPS 1014

Fixed Extinguishing Systems

LPS 1204

Portable Fire Extinguishers


Fire Risk Assessment

BAFE SP205 or FRACS Warrington Companies Scheme



Fixed Gaseous Suppression

BAFE SP203-3

Emergency Lighting Systems

BAFE SP203-4

Fire Engineering

Chartered Engineer (competency-based on fire engineering)

Fire Doors / Fire Stopping

BM Trada Certification


Please contact [email protected] to discuss