13 December 2021

Earlier this year, the UK government announced eight new freeports located in East Midlands Airport, Felixstowe and Harwich, the Humber region, Liverpool City Region, Plymouth, the Solent, the Thames, and Teesside. The government hopes that these freeports will act as national hubs for global trade and investment in the UK, promote regional regeneration and job creation and be hotbeds of innovation.

Freeports are special areas within the UK’s borders where different economic regulations apply. Freeports in England are centred around one or more air, rail, or seaport, but can extend up to 45 km beyond the ports.

This Freeports model will include a comprehensive package of measures, comprising tax reliefs, customs, business rates retention, planning, regeneration, innovation and trade and investment support.

Find out more here